WHAT WE WANT

OUR GOAL

What are the main current challenges of a building? Insulation, phase shift, inertia, diffusivity, airtightness, perspiration, thermal bridges, condensation, capillary rise. So many concepts to understand, parameters to implement and above all to master.

 

Since 2008 and the emergence of the EPB, buildings have been understood in terms of energy performance. Today it is a necessary step and an essential study for the design. But what about the feelings of the occupant? What is the pleasure experienced when faced with a material? What are the comfort standards? When and how are these aspects taken into account in the reflection?

 

With OTRA, we try to influence the behavior of the building in our achievements, put it at the service of its occupants by making it ALIVE - ACTIVE. We take into account all the parameters that define a material and its interactions with others to improve comfort and make lasting savings in energy and greenhouse gases (GHGs).

 

At OTRA, we even think of our own office as a lab. We test our feelings about a material or a wall composition before implementing it at a customer's premises. We test the limit comfort temperatures with or without additional heat and this in different environments. Beyond our own experiences and considerations, we also collaborate with the Scientific and Technical Center for Construction (CSTC) which collects physical data on the different wall compositions used in order to draw their own conclusions.

 

We also draw our own conclusions. With regard to a reference temperature of 21 ° C included in the energy studies, we are assured that with natural materials 18 ° C is sufficient to ensure a static comfort temperature.

 

This is what we call, among other things, energy comfort. This is what we all want! However, we are convinced that this cannot be done without understanding the existing building or building to be created, without understanding its occupancy logic or even and above all without an in-depth reflection on ecological and bio-sourced materials to be used.

 

A unique place where you can feel, touch, see renovation and construction techniques with bio-sourced, natural and local materials.

 

The renovation of the existing building and the future new construction of our premises will allow OTRA to highlight Belgian, local and European manufacturers of bio-sourced and natural materials. Isohemp, Gramitherm, HomeEOS, Omnex-planel, Hins, BC-materials, Cortex, MatGreen, Isoproc, Les Bois d'Antan ...

 

To date, apart from the future offices of the Ecoconstruction Cluster under construction, there is no place to represent innovative bio-sourced techniques, which will become the standard of tomorrow.

 

Otra in the realization of this place highlights and promotes its various techniques.

 

This unique place will be available to its customers and suppliers.

 

The new construction will also allow the expansion of the existing activity.

 

OTRA to date represents 5 office positions and 12 positions in the field.
According to the outlook for 2021 OTRA estimates that it will double its workforce.

CE QUE NOUS VOULONS

NOTRE BUT

Quels sont les principaux enjeux actuels d’un bâtiment? Isolation, déphasage, inertie, diffusivité, étanchéité à l’air, perspirance, ponts thermiques, condensation, remontées capillaires. Autant de notions à comprendre, de paramètres à mettre en œuvre et surtout à maîtriser. 

 

Depuis 2008 et l’émergence de la PEB, les bâtiments sont compris en termes de performances énergétiques. Aujourd’hui c’est un passage obligé et une étude indispensable à la conception. Mais qu’en est-il du ressenti de l’occupant ? Quel est le plaisir éprouvé face à un matériaux ? Quels sont les standards de confort ? Quand et comment ces aspects sont-ils pris en compte dans la réflexion ? 

 

Avec OTRA, nous tentons d’influer dans nos réalisations sur le comportement du bâti, le mettre au service de ses occupants en le rendant VIVANT - ACTIF. Nous prenons en compte l’ensemble des paramètres qui définissent un matériau et ses interactions avec  d’autres  pour améliorer le confort et faire des économies durables en  énergie et gaz à effet de serres (GES). 

 

Chez OTRA, nous pensons même notre propre bureau comme un labo. Nous testons notre ressenti face à un matériaux ou une composition de paroi avant de le mettre en œuvre chez un client. Nous testons les températures limites de confort avec ou sans appoints de chaleur et ceci dans différentes ambiances. Au-delà de nos propres expériences et considérations, nous collaborons aussi avec le Centre scientifique et technique de la construction (CSTC) qui récolte des données physiques sur les différentes compositions de parois mises en œuvre afin d’en tirer leurs propres conclusions. 

 

Nous tirons également nos propres conclusions. Au regard d’une température de référence de 21 °C reprise dans les études énergétiques, nous sommes assurés qu’avec des matériaux naturels 18 °c suffisent pour assurer une température de confort statique.

 

C’est ce que nous appelons, entre autre, le confort énergétique. C’est ce que nous voulons tous ! Or nous sommes persuadés que cela ne se fait pas sans compréhension du bâti existant ou à créer, sans comprendre sa logique d’occupation ou encore et surtout sans une réflexion poussée sur les matériaux écologiques et bio-sourcés à mettre en œuvre.

 

Un lieu unique où l’on peut ressentir, toucher, voir les techniques de rénovation et de construction avec des matériaux bio-sourcés, naturels et locaux.

 

La rénovation du bâtiment existant et la future nouvelle construction de nos locaux, permettront  à OTRA de mettre en avant les fabricants belges, locaux et européens de matériaux bio-sourcés et naturels. Isohemp, Gramitherm, HomeEOS, Omnex-planel, Hins, BC-matérials, Cortex, MatGreen, Isoproc, Les Bois d’Antan… 

 

À ce jour, à part les futurs bureaux du Cluster Ecoconstruction en cours de construction, il n’existe pas de lieu de représentation des techniques innovantes bio-sourcées, qui deviendront la norme de demain. 

 

Otra dans la réalisation de ce lieux met  en lumière et fait la promotion ses diverses techniques.

 

Ce lieu unique sera à disposition de ses clients  et de ses fournisseurs. 

 

La nouvelle construction permetra également l’expansion de l’activité existante. 

 

OTRA à ce jour représente 5 postes  de bureaux et 12 postes  sur le terrain.
Selon les perspectives de 2021 OTRA estime doubler ses effectifs.